Evaluation

When I was given the opportunity to do this photo documentary for the band, I really couldn’t pass it up. I thought it would be perfect for my Work Based Learning brief, as working freelance as a music photographer is what I want to do (and I am currently doing) for the rest of my life. What better experience can I get than jumping straight into a working environment and learning for myself.

One of the main things I learnt from spending a week overall with a band, is nothing can go the way you want it to. No matter how much you plan for something like this, it is more than likely not going to happen like that. Musicians aren’t the most reliable and can be pretty hard work, but at the same time that is what gives me drive to push on and create the best images I can possibly create.

Everyone becoming ill the first few days of working with the band became the biggest challenge because all everyone wanted to do was sleep and not record. With everyone feeling physically and mentally drained, it made the atmosphere and moods change. For me it was difficult because I knew I had photos to take but at the same time, I knew that if I was ill and had someone pointing a camera in my face, i’d want to throw it at them. I was respectful of the band by not continuously shooting all day and just photographing when  I could picture a shot I wanted in my head.

The band themselves made me feel really comfortable and involved me in conversation and jokes to make me feel like one of lads.  Sometimes as a female photographer, especially working within the music industry, its not the easiest thing to do. Some bands I have worked with certain members have been rude towards me and degrading about women thinking it is funny, but then the moment they see the images they apologise and seem shocked at the outcome.

This was a good learning experience for me as I will now know what its like to spend time in a recording situation as a posed to live gigs or tours, for the next time I get approached to do something like this again.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

